Accessibility

Services for library users with a disability or other additional needs


Welcome to Birmingham City University, Library & Learning Resources. We aim to aim to offer an equitable and appropriate level of service to users with any type of disability.

Please do not hesitate to contact any member of Library staff should you need any help using the Library.  Please let us know if there is anything we could do to improve our services for you.

Although you do not have to declare your disability, it is helpful to us to ensure that we can give you the right kind of support. All information will be kept in the strictest confidence.  We would highly recommend that you arrange a meeting as soon as possible with a Disability Adviser in the Disability Support Team, within Student Services.  You will discuss your needs with a Disability Adviser, who will fill in a Request for Enhanced Services form. The completed form is then sent to the Library by the Disability Support Team and we arrange the enhanced services you need.  The information about the services you require will be included in your Library record. For more information about how the Disability Support Team can help you please visit their web page.

Contacting the Library
Your named contacts in Library and Learning Resources are listed below and also on the Request for Enhanced Services form.

If you are unable to come into the Library, you can telephone, email or write to us with your enquiry (see contacts below).  You are able to renew books by logging into the My Library Account section on the Library catalogue https://capitadiscovery.co.uk/bcu/account. Full details of all our services are on the Library website.

Access to Library and Learning Resources facilities

Toilets
There are no toilets in most of our libraries.  However Curzon Library does have toilets.

Study facilities
Library and Learning Resources provides a range of learning environments for all students.  In Kenrick there are two study rooms reserved for booking by disabled students, one of which has a keypad lock, should you need to leave any valuable equipment while you look for materials or need to use any other facilities.  These rooms can be booked at the Help Desk during staffed hours, and out of staffed hours you can ask the security officers to let you into the room via the keypad.

Other facilities, equipment etc

Your suggestions
It is always useful to get feedback on our services, so if there is something you would like to tell us about, complete one of our comments forms (available from our service points) or our online form.


Library & Learning Resources Contacts :

Centre for Academic Success

Law

Richard Jones

Keith Brisland

0121 331 6236

0121 331 5627

richard.jones@bcu.ac.uk

keith.brisland@bcu.ac.uk

   

Art & Design

Media

Annmarie Lee

Nitaya Bion

0121 331 5860

0121 331 5298

Ann-Marie.Lee@bcu.ac.uk

nitaya.bion@bcu.ac.uk

   

Business

Music

Keith Brisland

Francis Firth

0121 331 5627

0121 331 5915

keith.brisland@bcu.ac.uk

francis.firth@bcu.ac.uk

   
Criminology

Psychology

Keith Brisland

Nitaya Bion

0121 331 5627

0121 331 5298

keith.brisland@bcu.ac.uk

nitaya.bion@bcu.ac.uk

   

Education

Sociology

Janet Fox

Keith Brisland

0121 331 5298

0121 331 5627

janet.fox@bcu.ac.uk

keith.brisland@bcu.ac.uk

   

English

Technology, Engineering and Environment (TEE)

Janet Fox

James Dean

0121 331 5298

0121 331 7480

janet.fox@bcu.ac.uk

james.dean@tic.ac.uk

   

Health

Digital Library

Helen Ryba / Margaret Weyham

Beth Delwiche

0121 331 7072

0121 331 5286

helen.ryba@bcu.ac.uk   margaret.weyham@bcu.ac.uk

beth.delwiche@bcu.ac.uk

   

Housing

 

Keith Brisland

 

0121 331 5627

 

keith.brisland@bcu.ac.uk

 
   

 


This page last updated by Keith Brisland.